Abundantly More

“Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us” -Ephesians 3:20 (NASB)

I absolutely love this verse, every part of it, for so many reasons. It is one of my favorites and I almost burst into tears every time I read it. Sometimes we think that the Bible is just a history book written hundreds of years ago, but my how it is far much more! It is living and personal because the Word is God (John 1:1) who is alive right now! He speaks to us through the Word and can penetrate the very depths of our soul in a way that no one else can because He alone created us and knows us best.

This verse has not always meant as much to me as it does now. For a long time I was not even sure I fully believed what it said. Then, I experienced this verse in a personal way with the biggest blessing-a definite supernatural one at that-of my life, one I will never forget and plan on telling my children and grandchildren about some day. I cling to this verse and know that it is true, and I pray that God will allow each of you to experience it in a very real personal way as well. So, what exactly does this verse say?

There are a couple of things I want to draw your attention to. The first thing is the words “far more abundantly”. I absolutely love this! God did not just say “more”, but emphasized this point with “far more”, and then even added “abundantly” on to it! I want to give you a visual of this because it is so important to realize God’s love for us here that is being demonstrated. Think of something you love. I love flowers. Roses, hibiscus, daisies, lilies, and so forth. I imagine I am holding a bouquet of flowers from God and He says, “But wait, there’s more” and He leads me into a room that is filled with flowers all over the place. Wow! What a gesture-He has given me more! But then, He leads me outside into a field and says, “I want to give you far more, all of these flowers are for you.” Talk about prince charming! Yet, then, God takes me onto a mountain and I looks down and there are flowers of every color and shape and size that I can imagine, as far as the eye can see and I cry out, “Oh Lord!” because that’s all I can mutter through the tears and He whispers, “I want to give you far more abundantly.” That is how much God cares. That is how much He loves.

The second thing I want to point out is “beyond all we can ask of think”. It’s not that God just wants to bless us far more abundantly, He wants to bless us far more abundantly than we can even ask for or think about! Go back to my flower visual. I would never ask God for a whole valley of gorgeous flowers because I could never even think to ask God for that! I know the flowers are just a visual, but God really does work in our lives this way. Our mind is so small and finite compared to His. We think to ourselves and ask for something, even begging Him to act or work, and all the while He is just smiling at us thinking, “Ah, my dear one, I will bless you far more abundantly beyond what you are asking and what you can even think about.” However, we have to remember it is all in His time, not ours. We need to remember that we can only see the little time in front of us, but God holds the whole picture and knows exactly the right time to give. Trust me, it will all be worth the wait when He does!

Finally, there is “power” within us, and this is the greatest power to have. It’s not being able to fly or lift heavy objects. It’s not turning invisible or having laser vision. It’s something far greater than this because it is God’s power, the power of the Holy Spirit. God is working in us through this power every minute of every day and it is the way in which He connects to us so personally because God is living inside each and every one of us. We can never be separated from Him once He is living inside of us. So often I forget this and I think that my mistakes cause me to leave His presence. I doubt His great love for me. I become guilty when I don’t make Him my highest priority. And yet, He never leaves. He is always faithful, even when I am not. He loves me unconditionally and forever. Wow. What an amazing, personal, loving God we serve!

Leave a Reply

