Renewal (Intro.)

“A time to tear apart and a time to sew together; a time to be silent and a time to speak.”   – Ecclesiastes 3:7 NASB

If you keep up with my blog at all, you’ve probably noticed it’s been a while since I have posted anything. All summer long I have wanted to write, but I have felt like something was preventing me, like there was this wall up. There were several times I would sit down to write and nothing would come. Other times I would start writing a post, but would be lost minutes later. Then, about halfway through summer, I read this verse and realized that I was in a season of silence. I honestly didn’t know when this season would end, but I tried to be patient and hang on through the season until I became released to speak (which is writing for me) again.

Today, just days into the Fall season, my release has come and I enter into a time to speak. You see, a few weeks ago, God revealed to be that in my heart I had been guilty of idolatry. Those idols had to be destroyed, or as the verse above says, torn apart. This was the reason for my season of silence.

But nine days ago I entered my 13th year of salvation, and I knew on that day that these idols had been destroyed, yet there was a deep yearning in my heart to do some sort of physical representation of this. I could feel God moving, but doing something on that level was completely unknown to me. I knew I was to build a memorial, but I didn’t know how or from what, and so I begin to pray for God to guide me and show me what to do, and I promised obedience in return.

Then today came, and today I heard one of the most convicting sermons ever in my life. It was exactly what I needed to hear, but still made my soul so heavy. I knew I would need time to process the words I had heard and all that God was moving in my soul.

After arriving home I got Autumn settled for a nap and went outside to cut grass and clean my head to prepare my heart for what I was about to do. I prayed again for God to show me how to build a memorial for Him, and when He answered I grabbed what was needed and began to build my memorial for Him…

*Read my next post “Renewal (09.24.17)” to see what happens next!

Leave a Reply

